paintballHomepaintballPicturespaintballTechnicalpaintballTournamentpaintballRecreationalpaintballFieldspaintballStorespaintball
paintballBeginner InfopaintballNews And ArticlespaintballLinkspaintballResourcespaintballVideopaintballContact UspaintballSearchpaintball
WARPIG Tech Talk - Model 98 / 98 Custom

Re: Newbie velocity help?

In Reply to: Re: Newbie velocity help? posted by skip_16157 on May 12, 2003 at 14:03:04:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ WARPIG Tech Talk - Model 98 / 98 Custom ]

Posted by:
Clayphoto

on May 12, 2003 at 16:59:03

Since I'm still a newbie and have a C98 with a 12" Teardrop barrel figure I might be of help for you there.

First off, I would go a step further than Bill on chroning. My recommendation from my personal experience for a stock C98 is to rechron at a mimimum of every 2 hours or 5 degrees in temperature change. I once chroned my gun with 10 shots ranging with a 268 to 289 range. 3 hours later (and about 10 degrees warmer) my speed with the same tank went up to 310-325fps on a 5 shot spread. I found out myself that temp makes a BIG difference with CO2.

To me, there is only two solutions. Chron a minimum of every 2 hours or 5 degrees temp change (more if needed), or spend the money on a good regulator. I bought a Palmer Stabilizer and since then all my shots have been between 272 and 288. Usually 277 to 284.

For the hooking... I've found that generally my gun shoots to the right a bit too. If I'm aiming (yes, I occationally aim), I visually offset my aim. If you bought another front sight and glued it to the right edge of your existing one.... that's about where I am. Keep in mind, that's me with a 12" Teardrop shooting PMI Big Ball in moderate, humid weather in Kansas. Your results could be different. Also, on my gun the more velocity I have, the greater the tendency to hook.